One week down, eleven to go

So I’ve just finished my first week of second year. Not bad. All my classes were lectures anyway because we needed to learn the content first before we could apply them in practical classes or tutorials. This semester I’m studying Molecular and Cellular Biology (MCB) as a core subject, Principles of Genetics as a selective subject and Genetics Health and Society as a breadth subject. So far, I’m enjoying the MCB as a subject. The content we’re learning is interesting and our current lecturer is engaging and quite the comedian. The challenge of the week is to learn the chemical structure of all 20 naturally occurring amino acids! As for my genetics subjects, we’ll they’re quiet dry for now.

What’s more, I received my admission ticket in my email for the GAMSAT, which is in the upcoming 2 weeks. I’m quite nervous about it, after all I spent most of my holidays studying a little here and there, and there’s a nuance of pressure to do well. I feel that my humanities section isn’t too bad and my science section is good but would be excellent if I could do all of the questions in time. Conversely, my essay writing is the section I’m unsure about. The quality of my work is subjective and I always go over the time limit by 5 or 10 minutes. One thing I find about my writing style is that I spend a short amount of time planning, spend a relatively large amount of my time in the first few paragraphs, but then I rush the ending. Furthermore, I’m not that confident with my discursive writing style as opposed to my expository writing style. I’ll let you know how I felt I went in the GAMSAT anyway and I’ll keep you guys posted on how well I score!

Cheers,
J

Leave a Reply

