Exam results release; holidays

A week and a half into the winter break and all of my results for the first half of second year have been released. I think I performed well this semester; I mean I’m not complaining:

Screen Shot 2014-07-04 at 3.35.57 pm

Principles of genetics was first to be released and it took me by surprise. I honestly did not expect to receive a mark this high for any subject. I suppose it was because  you could get your peers to help you in the three online tests and as for the multiple choice exam, there were many past papers available that exhibited questions with particular motifs. Based on my online test marks, I actually think I full-marked the exam. But I wouldn’t be surprised if half of the genetics cohort scored 100.

Genetics, health and society was next. To be honest, this one was just ‘meh’. I was glad it got over 80, it just felt like the whole subject was a blur and the exam was a little tricky to handle with long answer questions. Luckily, I had a decent buffer from the online tests and my lovely group’s wiki presentation.

Molecular and cellular biology (MCB) was last. I found both the exams manageable, although there are always a few questions I knew that I didn’t quiet hit the mark for. The funny thing about this result is that I actually predicted it before I even commenced learning this subject. Because both my biology marks were 88 last year and my chemistry mark was 90 last year, and that MCB had a ‘bio-chem’ component, I estimated I would meet there halfway at 89.

As for my holidays, I am reading for leisure and catching up with friends. So far, I’ve finished reading A.C. Grayling’s The Meaning Of Things: Applying philosophy to life and I’ve begun George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice And Fire Series. When I was a kid, I used to borrow lots of books from the library and read, but I had stopped because of new opportunities and time was limited. I wish I hadn’t though. As for GAMSAT UK this year, I haven’t started revising. Perhaps I’ll begin soon. Or perhaps I will continue reading. Hit me up with suggested reads in the comment section, I’ll be sure to follow up on them!

Cheers,
J

Leave a Reply

