2015: a look ahead

2015 will be a big year for me. This year, I graduate and medical school applications are processed with a potential for an interview and a offer. As it is my final year, grades mean more than ever to me and I really want to squeeze in some extra-coriccular activities on top of taekwondo. Although I should be spending more time on my studies this year, I feel as though I should spend time volunteering at a hospital. At the moment, The Alfred hospital seems like the go-to, as they are looking for volunteers. Royal Melbourne Hospital is also a possibility, however more training is required and it is harder to get into. The EDcare program at Maroondah hospital (my local hospital) also looks interesting.

One thing I have been contemplating over these holidays is whether to sit the GAMSAT again in March this year. Preparation (especially the essay writing section) requires a great deal of effort and although I achieved a score of 70 on my first attempt, it is only a ‘borderline-good’ score – it’s not an amazing score; there is still room for improvement. If I choose to sit it again, I get a shot at improving on my score, I could do worse, it will occupy the rest of my holidays and it will increase my workload during the front-end of the semester. If I choose not to sit it, the rest of my holidays will be more relaxing and I’ll have more time for extra-corricular activities and studying during the semester. What’s more, if I don’t get into medicine next year, the score I receive from the GAMSAT this March may also act as a backup for my medical school application the year after. Furthermore, I took up a summer subject Principles Of Management and dropped it soon after so I could focus more on GAMSAT study. Or maybe I dropped it because I subconsciously wanted a more relaxing holiday? GAMSAT registration closes in a few days (1st February).

Lately after arriving back in Melbourne, I have just been spending my time watching some classic movies, including The Good, The Bad and the Ugly (1966), 12 Angry Men (1957), Requiem For A Dream (2000), The Shining (1980), The Usual Suspects (1995), Reservoir Dogs (1992), Silence Of The Lambs (1991), Spirited Away (2001), Princess Mononoke (1997), My Neighbour Totoro (1988), Grave Of The Fireflies (1988), One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest (1975), 3 Idiots (2009), the Star Wars trilogy, and the Kill Bill to-be-trilogy. At the moment I am finishing the Lord Of The Rings trilogy. Out of these films, the ones I would recommend to everyone are 12 Angry Men, The Usual Suspects and 3 Idiots. Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke are also must-sees if you enjoy anime. Reservoir Dogs and Kill BIll… Tarantino films… what more can I say? Moving on from the classics, it is worth mentioning that the controversial film behind the Sony hacks, The Interview (2014), was hilarious. Lastly, If you haven’t seen Interstellar (2014) yet, then get on it!

So what do you guys think? Should I sit the GAMSAT again? And what other films should I watch?

Cheers,
J

4 thoughts on “2015: a look ahead

  1. 70 is borderline good? Based on the stories i’ve heard, 70 is basically a guarantee that you’ll receive some sort of offer obviously contingent on your interview performance. Anyways, congratulations and all the best.

    Like

    • Thanks Terry, and you’re right – 70 is a good score! Medicine is very competitive and they say that each passing year it gets harder to get into. I guess I’m also considering University of Queensland (UQ) as a backup option to University of Melbourne (UoM) there is no interview. As long as you get a hurdle GPA of 5.5, offers are made solely on GAMSAT performance. In 2014, the minimum cutoff for a Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP) place was around 70, hence I felt it was a ‘borderline-good score’. However, the cutoffs seemed to be lower this year, as I’ve seen UQ CSP offers made out to students of GAMSAT scores as low as 66. Hopefully it will stay that way for next year’s intake 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

