Easter break: Teddy Bear Hospital

Now that my mini-swotvac is coming to an end, it’s time for some reflection.

I kicked off my Easter break volunteering for the Teddy Bear Hospital (TBH) at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, which is one of the Royal Children’s Hospital (RCH) Good Friday Appeal (GFA) fundraising activities. The aim of the event was to introduce the hospital environment to children by encouraging them to bring along their teddy bears for treatment. All in all, I had a great time. I was initially stationed for colouring and photography, but instead I ended up at ticketing for the whole day. There I was working with a 3rd year MD student (being the face of the TBH) to raise funds for the GFA. It was $5 for a child’s teddy to visit the TBH and $10 for 2 or more children with teddies, but if you didn’t have money on you then any donation was fine. Throughout our shift, they gave us some amazing chocolate snack, some hot cross buns, and Krispy Kreme donuts at the end. Unfortunately, for those interested in volunteering at the TBH, you have to be a University of Melbourne student, either studying a post-graduate health science course or be in 3rd year biomedicine – which I think is a little unfair on the science students.

Donning half of the mascot costume – maybe I’ll wear the full one next year:

IMG_3878

 

As for the rest of my Easter break, I’ve been studying and learning guitar. I have a couple of mid-semester tests in the next couple of weeks, and during that period of time I also have a couple of training days for the Royal Melbourne Hospital (RMH) volunteer service and an Australian Chinese Medical Association Victoria (ACMAV) seminar – not to mention my taekwondo competition! In terms of time management, it’s going to get tough, but the tough get going.

Studying hard. I’m kidding – more like hardly studying. Too busy photoboothing at the library with the study buddy:Photo on 6-04-2015 at 4.24 pm

 

Anyways, I’ll leave you guys with a dirty mnemonic of the carpal bones that I picked up from another anatomy student. From the proximal row of 4 going from lateral to medial, to distal row of 4 going from lateral to medial:

  • Scaphoid Luntae Triquetrum Pisiform, Trapezium Trapezoid Canpitate Hamate
  • Some Lovers Try Positions That They Cannot Handle

Cheers,
J

Leave a Reply

