Renal and gastrointestinal block test complete

This week, I finished my first OSCE and the renal and gastrointestinal block test. Overall, I found the OSCE quite a good experience (apart from the lockdown) – I think that the thing I got the most out of it was that I needed to improve on my time management, as I took my sweet time doing the abdominal exam and only got 3/4s of the way through it. As for the the intra-semester test, it started out well, then gradually got harder towards the end. As always, only time will tell how I went for both these assessments.

Next semester, it looks like I’ll be working as an anatomy prac demonstrator for the 2nd year unimelb science students. Even though I’m only on for one session, I think it’ll be a great teaching experience. Because I’m going rural for MD2, hopefully I’ll be reallocated to metro in MD3 and that I can continue to teach!

“I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.” – The Modern Hippocratic Oath

As for my 2 week break before the MD student conference, I’m planning on long-overdue catchups with friends , learning something new on the guitar, and reading up on The ECG Made Easy (John R. Hampton). No way am I going to start studying for the upcoming neuroscience block!

In other news, I have been going through a string of amps and have finally settled on this one – an Orange Crush PiX CR35LDX; a solid-state, 35W, 10″ speaker, with footswitchable overdrive and 16 digital effects:

IMG_4920

 

Cheers,
J

Leave a Reply

